Help needed for overclocking my PC?

Hey guys,

First things first, I am a 'software' guy, and a bit of an idiot when it comes to hardware stuff. I'm in the 3D industry, and I'd like to squeeze as much as possible out of my pc for best performance.

As stated, I'm no expert on hardware, and a friend and I built my PC to my requirements last year. Could you please point me in a direction, as he said that this configuration can be overclocked? I'd ask him, but he's a busy lad and I need to learn anyhow.

My PC Specs are as follows;

Gigabyte P35-DS3P Motherboard

Intel Core 2 Duo E6750 2.66GHz

Nvidia GeForce 8800 GT 512MB DDR3

Corsair XMS 2 DDR2 (High performance 2 gig of RAM)

Corsair VX-450W Power Supply

Samsung HD501LJ Sata HDD

Is this system able to be overclocked safely? This rig does get hot, and I have no additional / aftermarket cooling.

Thankyou to all for your help in advance. :)

regards,

jay

5 Answers

Relevance
  • 1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

Overclocking is easy just go into the BIOS and tell it to run faster however, doing it without having your system burnup is much harder.

The problem is heat. You can tell it to run faster but it will make more heat in the process. If things get too hot the system will either crash or self destruct.

If you had a low end processor that was running under its capabilities (like my Celeron 420) then you can pump the speed way up without a problem. When you have a top end processor (like yours) it won't go much faster without work (and more cooling)

The rivatuner suggestion is a good one as video card often come at speeds less than their maximum.