Chances for MBA?

What are my chances for getting into an MBA program? Am I relegated to just getting something from one of these 'diploma mills' or can I get into a real school. My undergrad gpa is under 2.5. I haven't taken the GMAT yet. I have 8 years professional experience and have acquired some industry related professional designations. I'm looking more for some type of online or distance learning type of MBA program. Can I qualify for a better program like Syracuse or Penn State or do I have to just settle for one of these lower echelon 'diploma mill' type programs. I'd rather have something that's a little more recongnizable and respected. Should I just forget about any school that automatically lists GPA requirements? Or should I apply anyway?

4 Answers

Relevance
  • 1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

There are three considerations when admissions counselors review an applicant to an MBA program: the undergrad GPA, your GMAT, and your professional experience. The credentials are nice to have and support the assertion that you posess a depth of experience in your career, but you should also think about breadth of your profile. Consider that schools figure the GPA into their graduating profile, the question you should ask yourself is " What will be the impact of my GPA on the graduating class?"

Nevertheless, don't think that just because you don't have a 4.0+ GPA that you won't have a chance. Do a quick SWOT analysis (Strength, Weakness, Opportunity, and Threat) on your academics. How did you do in the quantitative classes?How did you do in verbal subjects? What can you do to compensate for those areas that show you will be able to master the MBA workload?