Anonymous
Anonymous asked in Business & FinanceInvesting · 1 decade ago

Is investing in mutual funds and stocks the same thing?

People have told me due to my high level of risk that I should invest most of my money in stocks. I know my bank offers mutual funds and IRA's but I am not sure if they offer stocks. If I have no stock investing experience then should I hire a broker to do it for me or should I just stick with aggressive mutual funds? Are stocks and mutual funds the same thing? What is an example of a stock?

7 Answers

Relevance
  • Dave W
    Lv 6
    1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

Stock is a tiny share of ownership in a company. If Acme Widgets has 1,000,000 shares of stock and you buy one, you effectively own 1/1,000,000 of Acme Widgets.

Because the fortunes of any single company rise and fall over time, the value of shares of stock rise and fall by significant amounts. It is therefore highly recommended by most financial experts that money invested in stocks be "diversified" (spread across many different stocks in many different industries). With a large enough amount of money, that can be done by buying stock in 20 or 30 good quality companies in different industries.

For people with modest amounts to invest or limit understanding of or interest in stocks, mutual funds or ETFs (exchange traded funds) are a good way to achieve diversification. They essentially own a bunch of different stocks and then you buy a share in the mutual fund or ETF, which gets you a tiny piece of each of the stocks it owns.

Note that some mutual funds invest only in stocks, some only in bonds, some in a mixture, some in other types of investments. Which one is best for you depends on your time horizon, risk tolerance, and in some cases even your tax bracket.

• 1 decade ago