On a digital piano, is there a signifanct(noticeable) difference between 32 bit and 64 bit polyphony?

Is the difference between 32 and 64 bit noticeable? Does 64 bit sound more like a real piano when compared to 32-bit. I am a beginner and thinking of buying my first digital piano. The piano I liked(Yamaha YPG625) only has 32-bit. Please advise.

Is there any song that can be played only with 64 bit and not 32 bit?

5 Answers

Relevance
  • 1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

Not any noticible difference. For a beginner a 32 bit will be fine.

• Login to reply the answers
  • 1 decade ago

Well, heres the deal. If you are playing the keyboard, surely you can not play much more than say, 12 notes at a time (two with each thumb). But that fact is, any song that you may play using the pedal, 32 voice would fill up quite rapidly and you may notice some cutting out of differnt sounds. This is especially evident when you play with any mixed sounds in the keyboard. This would actually use 2 per note. This gets trickey. It really depends on how much screwing around you like to do. If you plan on this as a long term investment, its will be worth the extra to go with a 64 voice. The piano sounds though depends on the brand and quality of the board. Can't go wrong with roland and kurzweil, but shop around.

• Saul
    Lv 7
    1 decade ago

All i've ever heard about polyphony is that the more you have, in general, the more realistic it's going to sound. I recommend basing your consideration on price and sound vs what could potentially just be more of a gimmick for you.

16-bit audio represents the spectrum of what we as humans can hear. However, as soon as we start manipulating 16-bit sounds digitally we begin to have unnatural sounds... every rounding error is within that spectrum of sound, which means that if we have good enough ears, we can hear every bit that went wrong in the digital computation process, whether that process is reverb, compression, whatever.