promotion image of download ymail app
Promoted
Anonymous
Anonymous asked in Science & MathematicsMedicine · 1 decade ago

which 1 is better for me USMLE or MCCQE ?I'll start preparing myself for one of these exams &i'm so confused.

i'm from libya & wonted to be a doctor in usa or canada

3 Answers

Relevance
  • Marie
    Lv 6
    1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

The USMLE Step 1, 2 and 3 are tests you must pass at various points in your medical training in the US. The MCCQE is for Canadian candidates.

You cannot take the USMLE Steps without being enrolled in a qualifying US or Caribbean medical school, or without proving that you have received a degree from a comparable foreign medical school. I am a US medical student and am not familiar with the Canadian system, but I suspect the rules would be similar.

If you have not yet entered medical school but wish to apply in the US, the previous posters are correct that the tests you need are the MCAT (Medical College Admissions Test) and probably the TOEFL (Test of English as a Foreign Language). Here are the websites: http://www.aamc.org/students/mcat/start.htm and www.toefl.org.

Best of luck to you!

Source(s): Fourth year medical student, entering residency in child neurology this July.
    • Commenter avatarLogin to reply the answers
  • Anonymous
    1 decade ago

If you have graduated from medical school in another country, you must do a residency here in the United states in order to practice. You will have to pass the USMLE steps I & II before you enter into residency. So, if you want to be a US doctor, and you are already a physician, that's the only test that will do.

As the previous poster stated, if you are not yet a physician, and want to attend medical school in the united states, you will need to take the MCAT (medical college admissions test), and maybe the TOEFL. (test of english as a foreign language).

• 1 decade ago