Foreign Exchange Student?

I live in the US and am looking for a program that will take me to Australia or England. So im looking for people that have been an exchange student before.

What program did you use?

How expensive was it?

Do you recommend me using that program?

And Was there anything you didn't like about it?

And if you have any websites that could direct me to there website that would be AMAZING!!!

2 Answers

Relevance
  • mari
    Lv 4
    1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

I was a Rotary exchange student in Ecuador from 1999-2000, and it was an absolutely awesome experience. I would definitely recommend the Rotary exchange program, although if you're set on going to either Australia or England, it might not be the best choice for you. The Rotary program is not very well developed in England, and consequently very few exchange students go there every year. Some students do exchange to Australia, but not a ton I don't think.

I know that it might be scary to think about throwing yourself headfirst into another culture where you don't speak the language, but I encourage you to at least consider going to a non-English speaking country. It's an amazing, albeit challenging, experience that I would not trade for anything. I took four years of Spanish in high school, so I knew some Spanish when I got to Ecuador, but there were people who were in my exchange group who knew only a few phrases in Spanish and they were fine! By being immersed in the language, you have no choice but to learn it, and you will learn it much faster than if you tried to just take a class or use CDs or books.