what will happen if i don't put my child in speech therapy?

My son is 4 years old and not much of a talker, but he can understands most of the things that was said to him. The problem is he just don't talk as much as other 4 years old. He's beginning pre-k this fall and i know that exposure to other kids his age will help him. will there be any long time effect if i decided not to enroll him in a speech therapy session? Should I enroll him or not? If I decided not to, does it mean I'm a bad mother for just waiting for him to talk on his own time and phase? please advice.

11 Answers

Relevance
  • Anonymous
    1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

hi im a qualified nursery nurse and now a T.A and have experienced this many times. singing could help as could exposure to other children his age. stimulate him as much as possible through different type of experience. ie trips, dvds, visual aids etc.

If you feel after a while he hasnt come on then speak to the pre school staff they are qualified and will be able to help. Im sure pre school will bring him along!!!! and no you are not a bad mother.......its STAGE NOT AGE!!! each child will develop at their own pace

Source(s): expereience!!!!!
  • 1 decade ago

If your child truly has a problem being around other kids won't help. The sooner he get help the better. He will fall behind if he actually has a problem and doesn't get help. The whole point of early intervention is to help children as early as possible so bad habit don't develop. Has he been evaluated yet? The first step is to have him meet with a speech therapist and determine if there is actually a problem. That will help you decide if he actually needs the speech classes, or not.

• Anonymous
    1 decade ago

Speech therapy isn't like drugs, or surgery. There is no harm to it. Speech therapy is presented to kids as a game, and most kids see it as just another kind of play.