Yahoo Answers is shutting down on May 4th, 2021 (Eastern Time) and beginning April 20th, 2021 (Eastern Time) the Yahoo Answers website will be in read-only mode. There will be no changes to other Yahoo properties or services, or your Yahoo account. You can find more information about the Yahoo Answers shutdown and how to download your data on this help page.

Anonymous
Anonymous asked in SportsSnooker & Pool · 1 decade ago

in 9 ball pool, do you have to call the pocket on the 9?

Do you lose if you scratch when attempting to pocket the nine?

And lastly, do you win in 8-ball if you make the 8 off the break?

Thank you

14 Answers

Relevance
  • 1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

    you gotta call the 9

    If you make the 8 on the break you lose.

  • 1 decade ago

    Very few, if any, tournaments or leagues require to call the 9 ball. If you were to play a game with someone you do not know, it would be correct to assume you do not call it unless specified beforehand. This is also the rules used by the WPA, the sanctioning body of just about every major professional pool tournament on the planet.

    In 8 ball, if playing on a bar table the only reasonable way to play is to call an 8 on the break a win, imo. This is also the rule of just about every bar league out there. If you are playing on a table where you can removes the balls from the pockets, I suggest you use the World Standardized rules (as posted on the BCA and WPA websites) which state that the breaker has the option of spotting the 8 and playing on or re-racking and breaking again.

    Have fun.

  • 1 decade ago

    Most places you don't have to call the 9 but they are tournaments where you have to. If you scratch on the 9 ball your opponent gets cue ball in hand which means your opponent can put the cue ball anywhere he wants on the table. The 8 ball on the break is controversial. Some places spot the 8 back up and the game continues. Also many places play where you win if you make 8 on the break. Just always ask about the house rules

  • 1 decade ago

    In the APA/CPA league the rules are you don't have to call the 9 ball but if you scratch on the 9 ball you don't lose but your opponent gets a ball in hand and can place the ball anywhere he wants on the table. In 8 ball you do win if you make the 8 off the break.

    Source(s): CPA member
  • How do you think about the answers? You can sign in to vote the answer.
  • 1 decade ago

    Not all rules are the same. But in BCA (world standardized rules) You do not have to call the 9, its also referred to as Texas Express rules. If you scratch on the 9, your opponent gets ball in hand, if you make the 9 and scratch the 9 is spotted and your opponent gets ball in hand (most players will just concede the game). On the break if the 8 ball is pocketed, its breakers choice to either spot the 8 or rebreak. Good luck and keep rackn em up!

    Source(s): Playing on the state and national level for over 10 years.
  • Anonymous
    1 decade ago

    It depends on the rule, but mostly, you don't have to call when trying to pocket the nine. Some player already concede when they scratch while attempting on the nine, since its a ball on hand rule.

    On 8 balls, depend also on the rules

  • fallen
    Lv 4
    1 decade ago

    Yes, call pocket on the 9 in 9 ball. Yes, you lose if you scratch on the 9 ball. And lastly; yes, you win if you make the 8 ball on the break in 8 ball.

    Your welcome

  • 1 decade ago

    The APA (American Pool Players Association) rules dictate that you do NOT have to call the 9-ball and it is a WIN if you pocket the 8 on the break, provided the cue ball doesn't scratch. If someone is siting BCA rules, ask them which BCA they're talking about or if they even know the difference.

  • 1 decade ago

    As you can see the rules in pool games vary quite a bit , from place to place , league to league and tournament to tournament. So the best thing to do is check the rules before you play. If your a league player keep your ears and eyes open for rule changes in your particular league.

  • 1 decade ago

    you have to call the nine

    if scratch on the 9 your opponent gets ball in hand

    if you make the 8 off the break you win unless you scratched

  • buvens
    Lv 4
    5 years ago

    Pocket Nine

Still have questions? Get your answers by asking now.