What specific equipment/s will I use to control multiple switches using fewer number of control wires?

5 Answers

Relevance
  • 1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

Try some single throw double/triple throw switches.

Source(s): I'm an Electrician
    • Login to reply the answers
  • 1 decade ago

(really depends on what TYPE of signal you're wanting to control.)

You need to do perform some kind of encoding to "compress" the input signals, and then decode it at the business end. This is called multiplexing

A fairly simple (frequency division) multiplexing circuit could take your control signals, and use them to control the tone outputted from a single tone encoder integrated circuit (which produces signals like phone tones). This single signal is then "piped" to where it is needed and then a Tone decoder IC, figures out what signals produced the tone. The low voltage output can control transistors, or (with diode protection) relays/solenoids. With this simple frequency division multiplexing you should be able to get at least 8 signals though each control line.

Try an electrical hobby store for the tone encoders/decoder chips.

Are the switches being used to block/allow signals, or is it simply to turn power on/off? If it's just power that being controlled it might be feasible to use a variant of the above, and "add" the controlling signals into the power lines, Then all the control signals are carried by the power lines which you need anyway.

----

Another way of compressing the input signals can be done if you only need to CHANGE the setting on one switch at a time. If not told what to do the switch stays at the setting it was.

This crops up a fair bit In a factory type situations, where you need to control lots of switches, at widely separated locations.