Double Major vs. Major&Minor?

I can't decide what should I do. I am a freshman in college.

I have an option to take a double major in accounting and finance. It looks very interesting to me because I will have more open doors. (i am not completely sure what finance is all about in details, however it sounds great on the paper)

On the other hand, I was thinking also about taking accounting major with management minor. That way I would know where the money goes and how the company is arranged which is, I think, a good basic education overall.

Finally, I plan to get MBA after I graduate (maybe this will help you to give me an advice). My goal is to be more attractive to employers, so I would like to know whats best for me

4 Answers

Relevance
  • 1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

A double-major in accounting and finance is a great option. My personal opinion is that you'll have one or two management classes as required coursework- and you won't need any more.

Regarding an MBA. If you already have a double major in business/accounting, it doesn't make sense to get an MBA immediately afterwards. The better MBA schools require at least 2 years of work experience anyway. At that point in time you'll be able to see if it makes sense to get an MBA.

• Login to reply the answers
  • fallen
    Lv 4
    1 decade ago

Is it possible to do a double major accounting and finance and a minor in management? Since your planning on getting your MBA the extra hours shouldn't be too taxing. Ask your adviser.

• 1 decade ago