Sam asked in Politics & GovernmentLaw & Ethics · 1 decade ago

Man made beer, God made pot?

...beer is legal, pot is not?

26 Answers

Relevance
  • Anonymous
    1 decade ago
    Best Answer

In my third and last career as a high school teacher, I often dealt with the DARE program, which was supposed to turn kids from drugs--DARE to Keep Kids off Drugs! (The kids changed it around to: Dare to Keep Cops off Donuts!) Time and again some bright 15 or 16 yr. old would bring up the questions: Why is alcohol legal when it causes so many deaths? Why are cigarettes legal?

I could understand why my fellow teachers couldn't answer this (I used to pooh-pooh the old one about those who can DO; those who can't TEACH, until I spent 8 years in the teachers' room listening to conversations about retirement and summer vacation! Never about kids and learning.), but even the cops had difficulty.

I was unpopular because I championed legalization. Compare if you will the crime rate between ANY American city and, say, Amsterdam where pot is quasi-legal (or Vancouver for that matter). But my basic reason is this: In a free market economy NOTHING that makes real money should ever be illegal. Why turn over the big bucks to organized crime.

America never learned the lesson of prohibition. Prohibition prohibits but it doesn't prevent.

Source(s): OMG, ignorant atheist, that's the funniest thing I've read all day. Why did no one else get it! facetiousness doesn't come off in this medium.
  • 4 years ago

Nobody has ever died of not paying their taxes either. You're making a mistaken assumption that laws are all passed to protect us from death. This is not so (obviously), and if pot is a good thing because it's natural (God made it), then try smoking some poison oak and see what happens.

• 1 decade ago