Red asked in Business & FinanceCorporations · 1 decade ago

How would you feel if your employer put GPS tracking on your phone?

Today, my company is putting out a new policy for everyone with a company cell phone to sign. They have enabled GPS tracking for all drivers, managers and outside salesmen. Today, I have the very fun task of reviewing this with all of my staff and getting them to sign the form.

The GPS positions of all employees will now be monitored by both the dispatch department and senior management. As a regional manager, I like being able to know where my drivers are at on their delivery routes but I feel a bit uncomfortable with my footsteps being tracked as well.

Why do I feel uncomfortable even though I’m not doing anything I’m not supposed to be doing?

7 Answers

Relevance
  • 1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

Even though this sounds like a breach of personal freedom the employee must understand that while s/he is at work they can legally be subject to monitoring with devices such as a GPS, CCTV camera, Internet History Monitors or packet sniffers.

Employees are company assets, just like a computer, truck or building and the employer has every right to monitor their assets.

If I were an employer - and especially if my business involved my employees traveling, I would want to monitor them as well. It is protection for the employer to help him get the best work for the salaries that s/he pays out.

There are a lot of uses for GPSs these days and asset tracking is one of them - the definition of an asset is not limited to a inanimate object.

You can find more about GPSs and their usage at http://gps.miclika.com/

• Nachel
    Lv 4
    5 years ago