24"-28"-Draw Length

40-50 lbs.-Draw Weight.

What size do I need?...I am new to the bow world

thank you

7 Answers

Relevance
  • 1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

Spine is one of those things that everyone talks about, but few completely understand. I'll try to provide some basic information and hopefully won't make too many mistakes.

Spine is basically a measure of the stiffness of an arrow shaft. More accurately, it is a measure of the deflection a shaft exhibits when a two pound weight is suspended from the middle of the shaft when the shaft is supported at two points 26 inches apart and the shaft is rotated so that the grain of the wood is vertical. This measurement is generally made with a device called, surprise, a spine tester. It is important that the grain of the shaft be oriented properly since a grained material exhibits different stiffness with and against the grain. Arrow shafts are measured to determine the greatest stiffness and that measurement is across the grain. Note that this is important because it tells you how to orient the fletching on the shaft.

There are tables that convert shaft deflection into pounds, a more usual description of the stiffness. This conversion can also be done using the simple formula Spine (in pounds) equals 26 divided by the deflection in inches. This says that if a shaft under test bends half an inch then is it has a 52 pound spine measurement. I suspect that the formula is simple because of the selection of the measurement method (the two pound weight seems to be the item most easily used to tune the conversion). In any case, the above information should be enough to allow a handy archer to jury rig a spine tester if one was needed.