Anonymous
Anonymous asked in Food & DrinkCooking & Recipes · 1 decade ago

What is Chili Grind?

I have been searching for a good recipe for chili but I keep seeing recipes that call for chili grind (course ground beef). What is this and what do I look for when I try to get it from the grocery store?

5 Answers

Relevance
  • 1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

Chili grind is just beef that's ground a bit coarser than what you normally get at the market. Ask the butcher if they have it available, most markets here in the States carry it now. It is a nice product for things like chili and shepard's pie.

Source(s): I'm a chef
    • Login to reply the answers
  • Anonymous
    1 decade ago

The butcher usually passes the ground beef through the grinder like 3 times ,, chili grind would be only 2.

It would make no difference so most people accept regular grind

BUT you can ask for it special,, Buy a small roast or steak and they will grind it for you. Like I often ask for ¼lb of ground pork because I can't use the whole pound..and only use it for chili.

• mark
    Lv 7
    1 decade ago

If you're using store ground meat then anything will do. If you were grinding it yourself then use the course plates on your grinder. Most great chili is made from chopped and cubed meat and the store ground is simply an expedient solution. My point is you can make your chili with most any grind or simply chop or dice your meat. You can make it with any kind of meat as well. I like a beef/pork combo if I am using ground meat.

• 1 decade ago

Ask your butcher for a courser grind of beef for chili...he'll know! I have also bought a round steak and cut it myself as small as possible.

• How do you think about the answers? You can sign in to vote the answer.
  • Brooke
    Lv 4
    1 decade ago