I want to go to graduate school, but I have a couple of snags I need to work out. Please help!!?

I am looking into going to graduate school, but I have two minor (potentially major) problems. In 2006, I graduated with a B.A. in Mass Communications. I didn’t have a Step B in order, so I took a yea off of school. I am not interested in going back to school and getting my Master’s. The thing is my GPA isn’t as high as I need it to be. Since I have already graduated from a four-year college, is it possible to go to a junior college and take classes to boost my GPA?

My second problem is that while I was away at college, I didn’t make friends with any of my professors. Since I don’t have any instructors that I can look at to ask for letters of recommendation, what are my other options?

Thank you for all who took time out of there day to answer my questions!!

4 Answers

Relevance
  • 1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

Graduate programs will look at your GPA from your 4 year university separately from a jr college so there isn't a point in trying to boost your GPA. It is not clear if you want a PhD for grad school. Most post-grad schools require an entrance exam such as the GRE, GMAT, LSAT, MCAT etc.

You need to score well on these to overshadow your GPA. It's not too late to go back and ask for help from your old university. Letters of recommendation may also come from places of work and colleagues. In your application stress why you want to attend grad school and how you have prepared for it in your career.

Reading essays that do not have a clear focus or seem like the person want to go to grad school to stay in school are always placed at the bottom of the pile. What experiences have prepared you for the schooling you are seeking? What goals will grad school help you accomplish? Good luck.

• MM
    Lv 7
    1 decade ago