Anyone using a Medtronic Paradigm pump with CGM?

I have been using a Diestronic pump for about 10 years, and I want to upgrade. Please only answer if you are actually using the Medtronic Paradigm, or if you have used it in the past. I have info from the company, so I don't need any copied and pasted stuff. I just want to hear your personal experience, please!

Update:

Thanks so much for all your answers! I will check with my insurance and see if the CGM is something I can afford. I'm looking forward to a change.

7 Answers

Relevance
  • 1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

I use the 522 version with the CGMS and I love it! It keeps me very updated on my blood sugar, and the second thing stuck in my side is not a big deal. You just have to keep it calibrated, and they work really well.

• Ken
    Lv 5
    1 decade ago

I've been on the 522 for almost a year and had the CGMS for about 7 months. I'm very happy with both. The CGMS isn't covered by my insurance so I don't use it all the time, but it's extremely helpful when I do use it. And I learned so much about my own BG patterns from it, that even when I don't use it I'm still able to achieve better control.

• 1 decade ago

I use the Paradigm 722. I use the 722 because of it's higher volume (it can hold more insulin).

I decided against the CGM, partly due to the expense (insurance does not cover it) and because I already have one infusion set in my abdomen and that's enough. I've been sticking my fingers for so long that I don't mind it anymore. It's so routine that I hardly think about it.

I might change my mind eventually but for now, I'll go without. Even with the CGM, you still have to stick your finger for glucose levels.

I have only used Minimed pumps. I prefer them and since I've been using their pumps for 8 years, I'm familiar with them and find them easy to use. I've only had problems with it maybe once or twice.

You can call Minimed at 1-800-MINIMED and ask for more information on the CGM.

EMT