Yahoo Answers is shutting down on May 4th, 2021 (Eastern Time) and beginning April 20th, 2021 (Eastern Time) the Yahoo Answers website will be in read-only mode. There will be no changes to other Yahoo properties or services, or your Yahoo account. You can find more information about the Yahoo Answers shutdown and how to download your data on this help page.

Master painters - best way to get a great finish with GLOSS paints?

Easy with emulsions and flat paints. But how do you get a flawless finish with gloss or semi-gloss paints?

What's the secret - the brush / roller or the technique?

What's your advice, folks?

8 Answers

Relevance
  • 1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

I assume that you are using oil based paint rather than water based ones (the latter are awfull).

I paint mdf cabinets for a living and manage to provide a very high qualty finish.

to do this i use a product called owatroll (it is a mix of turps and linseed oil). Owatroll when mixed in with the paint will retard the drying time, thus enabling you to lay off the paint (spread) more evenly, ie fewer brush marks (tramlines)! the amount need will be a function of the abient humidity and temperature

Most people make the mistake of using thinners which actually speeds the drying time and results in more coats being required.

To apply the paint (on large flat areas) I use anza paint pads. The rest are useless.

Also invest in a quality Wooster synthetic brush (or 2nd best- Purdy).

To save on brush cleaning between coats use a brush mate storage system. They might cost upto £18 but will save you time/money by not having to clean them between coats.

Ensure that your surfaces are clean and sand in between coats with 400 grit silicon carbide paper. Remembering to dust off between coats

Finally buy trade quality paint not the diy stuff.

it is true that spraying will give you the best finish but this is not always a practical option in the domestic home. too much paint bounce back etc