Exchange Student?

Has anyone done any exchange student programs?

I am in high school and would love to go over to europe for a semester or ever a whole school year.

I would love to hear other peoples experieces with student exchange programs

3 Answers

Relevance
  • mari
    Lv 4
    1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

I was a Rotary exchange student in Quito, Ecuador for a year in 1999-2000. I went the year after high school because my high school wouldn't give me credit for foreign exchange, and it worked out pretty well that way. I got to graduate with my class, didn't have to repeat a year, and got to do something totally different during the year between high school and college. One thing you should know is that you have to apply really early to do an exchange. If I remember correctly, I applied in September or October 1998 and left for Ecuador in August 1999. Rotary is a great program, but you can also go with AFS and YFU, which I've heard are good programs. Rotary is generally more affordable, but it varies from club to club. It's also pretty competitive in some areas, but in other areas they're actively trying to recruit students to do an exchange because they don't have enough applicants. I'd recommend getting a brochure from AFS and YFU and calling your local Rotary Club and asking to speak to the Youth Exchange Coordinator. That person will be able to tell you about cost, deadlines, available countries, etc.