Books on Zen Buddhism and Hindu religions?

I would like to learn about Zen Buddhism and Hindu but there are so many books I don't know where to start. If some one could recommend one or two books to get me started that also have good suggested reading lists that would be great.

11 Answers

Relevance
  • 1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

An Introduction to Buddhism by Peter Harvey

An Open Heart and The Art of Happiness, both by the Dalai Lama

Also, pick up a copy of the Bhagavad Gita (sacred Hindu text)

• 1 decade ago

Books on Zen most suited for beginners, as far as I'm concerned, are "Zen - a way of life" by Christmas Humphreys, "An Introduction to Zen Buddhism" by D.T.Suzuki, or just go to a library and try what you find there. That's what I did when I got first interested. (now I'm a Zen teacher) As far as I remember, it was Alan Watt's books I read first. One of my all time favourites is "Zen Flesh - Zen Bones" compiled by Paul Reps.

Don't know much about Hinduism, what I know I got from listening to Ram Dass, his tapes and videos, very helpful and greatly enjoyable, but that wouldn't be the best way to learn about Hinduism.

• Anonymous
    1 decade ago

For Buddhism, I would start with:

Buddhism Without Beliefs: A Contemporary Guide to Awakening by Stephen Batchelor.

Living Buddhism by Powell, Andrew and Graham Harrison

and

What the Buddha Taught by Walpola Rahula

Cheers!

• 1 decade ago

I was looking for the same information myself recently. I agree with the answerer about Thich Naht Hahn - anything by him is excellent and easy to read. Another kind of "bible" of Zen is "Zen Mind, Beginner's Mind" by Shunryu Suzuki Roshi. I'm reading it right now and it's very simple, but very deep, like most Zen writing.