promotion image of download ymail app
Promoted
J. asked in Science & MathematicsEngineering · 1 decade ago

How could learning CAD technology help you in the automotive field.?

does learning CAD help you get a job in automotive and auto racing engineering?

what do you know about CAD that is related to automobiles...

I am considering a engineering CAD technology program. thanks!

7 Answers

Relevance
  • 1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

I'm not in automotive engineering myself, but I have been using 3D mechanical CAD for over 15 yrs.

Automotive engineering will encompass many engineering disciplines, eg Industrial Design, Mechanical, Software, Electronics, Test to name but a few.

To gain an automotive job in any of the fields you would probably need to have some level of previous experience or have graduated from a course that specializes in that field.

CAD is basically a tool that allows an engineer to generate and develop designs virtually, but before an engineer can design anything in CAD, he/she needs to have an underlying knowledge of their field, which they can use to steer their design process.

Providing you have good qualifications an employer may take you on without experience using a specific CAD package, as most automotive engineering disciplines will make use of high-end CAD packages, some of which will be bespoke to that job. Training for these types of CAD packages us usually provided by the employer. Many university courses include hands on CAD training but it may not be the soft ware that your end employer uses.

You will also find that many of these fields have a cross over

with each other, and the use of CAD packages and Product Lifecycle Management (PLM) software is now allowing teams of engineers, located in numerous sites around the world, to work concurrently on design projects.