If we got "conditional approval"... what exactly does that mean?

Applied for FHA loan (first time buyer) & all of our application materials are in, appraisal is done, etc. I heard from our mortgage broker this week that we have "conditional approval" with the conditions being a) that I provide documentaiton of my student loans (I'm currently a grad student - working full time - so they're deferred but they need to know how much payments would be if I were paying them... I already gave the numbers to the broker but they need "official" letter from lender) and b) paying off old collections (which we knew we'd have to do from day 1 for the FHA loan & are doing so through escrow...)

So... does this mean I should start being a bit more optimistic and maybe start making moving plans or is there still time for things to go wrong???

10 Answers

Relevance
  • 1 decade ago
    Best Answer

Conditional means that if everything you told them checks out officially and they have no surprises upon there investigating then you have the loan.

You have to always show proof of everything that you claim (income, credit etc) they can't just take your word for it!

Wait until they have all there documentation first before you start packing.

• 3 years ago

Conditional Loan Approval

• 3 years ago

Conditional Mortgage Approval

• 1 decade ago

There is always time for things to go wrong in the purchase of real estate. Even to the day of closing, but when you take care of your part the closing will usually happen.

You just have to comply with the reasonable requests that the lender requires before the loan is approved. It is an involved process and has a lot of detail. After all, the lender is going to loan you, a stranger, a lot of money so you can buy the house. The lender wants to be sure that you are in a condition to repay the load as agreed and that you will repay the loan.