Database administration Oracle?

Hello Everyone, I am an engineering student with CS stream..

But, i would like to go in Database, as i am not interested in going to the field of traditional Software Development...

so, I have to do a certification course in Oracle...

Actually i really didn't know anything about this Database thing.

So can anyone tell me any e-book to start with as i am a Novice in this thing. I really don't know the 'A' of Database and Oracle.. I've to go with Oracle 9i.. So please if anyone have any e-book of it, plz give the link of the FREE e-book if it is available in any website..

Plz Help..!! its a question of My career

3 Answers

Relevance
  • 1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

Hi -

As a 3-time OCP and seasoned professional in the field, I offer this advice....

Stick with Oracle, all other database are misnomers in calling themselves databases.

Start with 10g and 11g. No reason to look at 9i and below. The features in 10g and 11g are cool and also a lot of the mundane tasks that DBAs had to do in the past are obsolete now.

With no experience as a DBA, there won't be many companies willing to hire you straight away. Your only hope is to beg a senior DBA to take you under his/her wing and teach you the ropes. No offense, but everyone starts out this way. The database is too complex and way too critical to be managed by anyone without experience. Your existing experience is proof enough that you're intelligent and motivated enough to be able to do a good job, you just need someone to believe in you and give you a chance. This is 90% of the battle to becoming an Oracle DBA.

You should be a daily reader and devoted follower of Tom Kyte. He is by far the best Oracle professional on the planet and anyone/anything he recommends as worthy reading should also be looked at. Go to

http://asktom.oracle.com/