OVI Charge Ohio Revised Code?

Looking for the sentencing or criminal procedure for an OVI charge in the ohio revised code. If anyone knows the max on what will happen in court that will work, if anyone from ohio knows that much.. sure hope no one does.. Or, if anyone can point it out to me in the ORC I would greatly appreciate it. Thanks.

3 Answers

Relevance
  • Kevin
    Lv 6
    1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

    Ohio OVI

    First Offense,

    MINIMUM: 3 days in jail (or 72 hour program), $250 fine, 6 month license suspension.

    MAXIMUM: 180 days in jail, $1,000 fine, 3 year license suspension.

    Second Offense (within 6 years),

    MINIMUM: 10 days in jail, $250 fine, 1 year license suspension.

    MAXIMUM: 1 year in jail, $1,500 fine, 5 year license suspension.

    Third Offense (within 6 years),

    MINIMUM: 30 days in jail, $550 fine, 1 year license suspension.

    MAXIMUM: 1 year in jail, $2,500 fine, 10 years in jail.

    Fourth Offense in 6 years (or Sixth Offense in 20 years) is a felony.

    If the BAC was refused, or was double the legal limit then the jail time is doubled.

    Source(s): Police Officer, 11 years (Ohio)
    • Login to reply the answers
  • 1 decade ago

    ORC 4511.19 is Driving Under the Influence

    Administrative License Suspension (ALS)

    If you are stopped for drunk driving and you refuse to take the sobriety test, or if your test results exceed the legal limit of Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC), the officer can take your driver's license on the spot, and the suspension begins immediately.

    Depending on previous offenses or refusals, you can have your license automatically suspended for a period of 90 days to five years.

    The administrative suspension is independent of any jail term, fine or other criminal penalty imposed in court for a DUI offense.

    1st Offense

    Administrative License Suspension (ALS) for a prohibited BAC;

    ALS for test refusal = one year license suspension;

    Jail - Minimum of three consecutive days or 3-day driver intervention program;

    Fine - Minimum $200 and not more than $1,000;

    Court License Suspension - 6 months to 3 years.

    These are not set in stone. Judge has final say.

    • Login to reply the answers
  • 1 decade ago

    IS THIS OPERATING A VEHICLE INTOXICATED??

    SEE:

    CODES.OHIO.GOV/ORC/SEARCH/OVI

    YOU WILL FIND MORE INFORMATION THEN YOU WANT TO KNOW FROM SENTENCING FINES ETC.

    • Login to reply the answers
Still have questions? Get your answers by asking now.