sports bike vs. cruiser?

i'm looking into getting a bike but not sure witch type would be best for me. i like the style of a sports bike but i dont need the speed or care for it. but yet i want a bike the can tout me a round easy i'm a lil over 200lbs and only 5 7. any thoughts would help. please dont be sarcastic.

16 Answers

Relevance
  • 1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

If you are wanting to stay with Sport bike I would recommend a Triumph Triple. Plenty of power and look sharp. I myself prefer a cruiser. They are much more comfortable to ride and if you plan on taking any long trips you will want to stay away from the sport bikes. Others might tell you different but I have been riding bikes for over 20 years and have ridden both on long trips. If you can afford it I suggest going with a HD Softail of some sort. The new Vulcan's and the Star bikes are very nice as well but anymore there is not much of a price difference.

Source(s): Experience: 20 years of riding and building
    • Commenter avatarLogin to reply the answers
  • 1 decade ago

I'm also over 200 lbs. Most bikes won't have trouble with your weight. I ride a 500 cc sport bike that has no trouble keeping up with traffic, but doesn't quite get out of hand like a 600 can (a 600 will have about twice the power of a 500).

On cruisers, you can get slightly larger with the engine size. However, I'd recommend sitting on examples of both and finding out which one you feel comfortable on.

• 1 decade ago

I just got an 1989 Suzuki VS750 Intruder. Its a small cruiser style. I had more options in sport bikes, but I don't care for the riding position. This smaller cruiser felt really nice when I sat on it. 750cc is plenty to move me, and I am your weight, but a little taller. It rides easily at 65mph. I haven't tried it faster, but since I plan to commute on surface streets, there's little need to go faster.