Yahoo Answers is shutting down on May 4th, 2021 (Eastern Time) and beginning April 20th, 2021 (Eastern Time) the Yahoo Answers website will be in read-only mode. There will be no changes to other Yahoo properties or services, or your Yahoo account. You can find more information about the Yahoo Answers shutdown and how to download your data on this help page.

Suggestions of what to do with a PhD in organic chemistry?

I am reposting this questions with some different wording/more explanation. The last time I tried to ask this question, I got answers that didn't correspond to what I was asking.

I am currently a PhD student at a highly ranked research university. Upon entering the program, I thought I wanted to be a research professor. Once I saw the lifestyle of professors, I decided it was not for me. I then considered a job in chemical industry, but several factors including my experiences as an intern in a large pharma company as well as those of friends have turned me off to these jobs as well. I am currently applying for an internship that will aid in my future career. I am currently considering:

1. Management consulting (This profession seemed to cause confusion in previous questions - I don't have space here to provide a definition, but there is a decent article on wikipedia if you are unsure what this means)

2. Patent Law (yes, attending law school)

Any other suggestions?

Update:

A lot of people in my program are undergoing the same issues. I am not particularly interested in doing a post-doc since I am not really interested in a research career. A few of my friends are looking into quantitative research for a bank, but they have more math oriented backgrounds than myself. Thanks!!

2 Answers

Relevance
  • 1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer