Anonymous
Anonymous asked in Social ScienceGender Studies · 1 decade ago

Paid maternity leave?

Why should an employer be obligated to pay a woman, pregnant by choice, for doing no work for the company?

I dont understand this whole entitlement mentality-- how is it fair for the employer?

20 Answers

Relevance
  • 1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

My original thoughts that men and women are entitled to time off, stemmed from a social democratic system of government that paid for maternity/paternity leave, not the private employer. However, in a capitalist society where the cost will fall on the private company, from a business perspective, the sense of automatic entitlement make no sense. If I'm running a business and have a budget to work with, why should I have to pay for maternity leave, when getting pregnant is one's personal choice, at my expense? I hate to say this, but this may even make me want to discriminate against hiring women, because as a manager I'd want to run my business with minimum cost and interruptions. Although I still don't have my mind made up about how to go about doing this, I think maybe people who choose to have children should plan so ahead of time and save their sick and vacation time to use. If a company chooses to give its employees extra days/weeks for maternity/paternity leave (which if I was in a position to decide and could afford, I would, after a year of employment), then fine, but it's not an entitlement. Also, what about childless people? They should get less days off because of their lifestyle/personal choices, which may even be more responsible?