TB eventer! asked in PetsHorses · 1 decade ago

off the track TB's?

i have trained horses before, and would consider myself capable of training/re-training MOST horses to be suitable for beginner riders. i can't REALLY get them to be high level but i am still learning so who knows whats in the future!..but anyway.

i currently own an OTTB who i got when he was 14/17 [depending on who you ask] i have trained him, and when i got him he still had many of the common race horse habits. i want to get a OTTB from a trainer and use him for low level eventing. Is there any TB specific things i should know about training? i have a very good pro trainer but he will be my project. Also, i generally train by just riding.. if that makes sense. i can just tell what a horse needs and what i have to do to get there, will this work with a OTTB?

any advice or info about them would be greatly appreciated! also, what do you think of "julie forsure" on this page?

http://www.canterusa.org/newengland/sale/trainerli...

this is his picture:

http://canterusa.org

4 Answers

Relevance
  • 1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

In the Tb world, breeding means just about everything. If you are to re-train OTTBs, start with the best bred you can find. If you are near a racetrack, go there and let trainers know you are looking to re-train one. Leave your phone number with one you trust. He/she will return the call when OTTBs come available for free.

Trainers can mess up a racehorse in a lot of ways, and believe me they do. There are many horses that were good one year and done the next. If they are geldings, they ar eof no use to a trainer. They want to unload. It cost an owner $1500/month and they don't want to pay that amount for a horse that is done. They will give them away to a good home. Look for the best bred animal. They tend to relax and turn into great hunt/jumpers, dressage,etc. They are the smarter ones.