Anonymous
Anonymous asked in Politics & GovernmentLaw Enforcement & Police · 1 decade ago

Disputing red light camera ticket?

Last night while going through an interesection which I thought was still yellow a flash went off. Probably means I was ticketed by a red light camera. I have a few questions: Can I dispute this ticket if it arrives? If they provide photos, etc, what is the best possible way to get the fine reduced? Will I have the opportunity to be represented by a free public defender? This happened in LA county and apparently the ticket will cost $381 dollars. Any advice would be appreciated because I am a poor graduate student.

Update:

Also, I was sort of distracted because there were sirens from a firetruck a block behind me (going opposite direction). Usually I know if I can make a yellow light or not, but I was sort of distracted. Could I use this to plead my case?

Update 2:

Heavily, some states it's $100 but California, especially LA county, is strict. It's $381

13 Answers

Relevance
  • Dana A
    Lv 6
    1 decade ago
    Best Answer

If you ran the red light, you ran the red light. I don't think being distracted by a nearby siren is a good excuse, but I guess you could try it.

Good luck,

Dana (Calif. attorney)

• Anonymous
    1 decade ago

Red light cameras are not owned by the police station. They are owned by a third party company that promises a certain percentage of the fines paid to the police department for doing almost nothing. Running a red light and being ticketed is a class C misdeamenor moving violation. A red light camera is not a moving violation and is simply a fine. That is why defensive driving is not required. It is a CIVIL matter. Don't pay the ticket. The police can not do anything and the third party company owns the camera, they can't do anything either. People don't know that, but as working in traffic, i do.