portuguese language?

where is portuguese spoken and why does it say it is a romance language in the dictionary?

3 Answers

  • 1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

    Romance languages are the languages that derive from Latin, portuguese, spanish, french, italian and romanian, territories that once were part of the Roman Empire.

    Portuguese is the official language of Portugal, Brazil, Cape Verde, St. Tomé and Príncipe, Guinea-Bissau, Angola, Mozambique and East-Timor. It is also one of the official languages of Macau in China and Damao, Diu and Goa in India.

    There are also portuguese words in many different alphabets, especially in the places the portuguese first explored, like Malaysia, the Moluccas islands, Indonesia, Papua and even Japan (the portuguese were the first europeans to reach Japan in 1543) where more than 250 words in japanese derive from the portuguese language, including "arigato" that comes from the portuguese word "obrigado" (thank you).

    Source(s): A Portuguese
  • 1 decade ago

    Romance language refer to the grammatical structure and history of the particular language, of which Portuguese belongs.

    Portuguese is spoken in several contries (See link)

  • 1 decade ago

    Romance means that it is derived from the language of the Romans, Latin. Portuguese is spoken primarily in Portugal and Brazil, but it is also spoken in several countries in Africa, including Angola and Cape Verde.

Still have questions? Get your answers by asking now.