Yahoo Answers is shutting down on May 4th, 2021 (Eastern Time) and beginning April 20th, 2021 (Eastern Time) the Yahoo Answers website will be in read-only mode. There will be no changes to other Yahoo properties or services, or your Yahoo account. You can find more information about the Yahoo Answers shutdown and how to download your data on this help page.

Anonymous
Anonymous asked in TravelCanadaOther - Canada · 1 decade ago

Can I re-enter Canada?

Hi, I am a canadian premanent resident and would like to travel to US with an infant for two weeks. She has valid PR card, but her passport does not meet 6 months validity period (it can be renewed only when expired). Can I leave and re-enter Canada?

4 Answers

Relevance
  • 1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

As a permanent resident (of any country that allows PR status), one of the requirements for maintaining your status is to maintain a valid passport. This means you have to apply for renewal BEFORE the current passport expires.

If the passport expires, SO DOES THE PR STATUS (effective midnight of the last day the passport is valid), regardless of the actual date of validity on the PR document.

As a PR of Canada, you can leave the country at any time to visit elsewhere, as long as you maintain a residence in Canada and spend enough time in the country to keep your status (basically, 183 days a year).

When traveling, you should have both your PR documentation (green card), AND a valid passport. Your requirements for visas to the country you are entering is NOT necessarily based on the country in which you have PR status ... it may be based on the country issuing your passport.

Whether you need to have a passport valid for 6 months beyond the date of your trip is dependent on the country issuing the passport itself, not the fact that you're coming from Canada. Check the official US Customs and Immigration Services (USCIS) website for documentation requirements.

• Anonymous
    1 decade ago