Anonymous
Anonymous asked in HealthMental Health · 1 decade ago

Could anyone please help me? Psychology vs. Psychiatry?

I have a big problem and i do not know where to begin.

I have been very depressed for the past couple of months and i have severe insomnia. I can not fall asleep or stay asleep. My husband is deployed. It is his third month in Iraq. Not having him with me and worrying about him constantly drives me insane, it is litelarlly killing me.

I am new to this country (have no family here) and i dont have anyone to talk to about this. Everything seems to be spinning out of control and I feel that i really need to get professional help because it is very hard living like this. I am a student at a university and my depression affects my studies. Not doing as well as i would like to in school makes me feel like a total failure. (I used to be a very good student and i used to enjoy studying a lot...not anymore)

So my question is. Whom should i make an appointment with, a Psychiatrist or a Psychologist. What is the difference? What would you recommend in my situation.

Update:

Thank you very much for taking time and answering my question!

9 Answers

Relevance
  • Anonymous
    1 decade ago
    Best Answer

As a military family member, your first appointment needs to be with your primary doctor UNLESS you are feeling suicidal, homicidal, or the need to do harm to yourself or another. Then go to any emergency room.

Your doctor will evaluate your symptoms and if they are mild enough will treat them himself. If you are opposed to medication, he can refer you to group meetings, your clergyman, or a psychologist.

Don't wait for your symptoms to go away on their own, they may, or they may worsten. And be patient. It's a trial and error process to get the right meds and the right doses for the right person. Hang in there!

Source(s): 20 years in the Air Force, with severe depression and PTSD
  • 1 decade ago