whats wrong with my computer's memory?

i'm new to the whole computer fixing thing but in the last few days i've been learning as i go...so here's the problem...my anti-spyware , anti-virus, and firewall ,all of which i see as necessary at start up, is taking way to much of my memory...i'm running windows/xp on a hp pavillion about 6 years old( could be the problem lol) i have wiped it with system recovery...installed two anti spyware, one anti virus, and a firewall...using msconfig i have nothing running at start up exept these programs and even shut down some system operations...still, right after start up im using about 200k commit charge at a limit of 295k...once im on a browser its over 230k.... ive just error checked and getting ready to defrag...if that dont help im stuck... any ideas ?....my cpu is fine now but i cant use certain anti spy removers because they will crash it...spybot puts my cpu at 100 and it stays there till it shuts down now im using avg it seems to be easy on my system ...any ideas ?

Update:

im not sure how to tell how much memory i have installed but commit charge says limit 295472 ...not enough?

5 Answers

Relevance
  • 1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

There is nothing wrong with your computer memory.

First of all, If you are not running any heavier apps or games means, for Win XP system, all you need is Celeron Processor, with 10 / 20 GB HDD, with 128 MB RAM.

But be sure on what you install / what you need / where you install.

I am not sure about your HDD capacity and size of your partitions. But general recomendation is,

You need min 4 GB space in C drive for XP alone(2 GB for OS files + RAM capacity x 3 times for virtual memory + 1 GB free space)

What you can do?

1. If you have more space - no issues, but if you have only 4 GB, do not install any other s/w in C drive - install them on other drives.

2. Remove all unnecessary startup programs.

3. Run RegCleaner

4. Run CCleaner