JMU or SUNY New Paltz?? for a semester abroad in the US?

I'm an Egyptian student "junior", business major, concentration marketing, with a Computer Science minor... I'll be having a semester abroad next semester in the US and my options are JMU James Madison University, and SUNY new paltz..

where should i go? and/or which courses should i get?

Update:

I need info about the two universities.. I only know their rankings JMU 22nd, SUNY 8th... the courses i'll take will be electives so they've got nothing to do with my requirements.. what are the good courses to take? whats the student life like? the dorms? the outings? activities? any info about one of the 2 universities would mean a lot to me.. the sites aren't really that usefull.

3 Answers

Relevance
  • 1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

I don't know anything SUNY New Paltz, BUT I spent one year at JMU. It was an overall, wonderful experience! I'm from the west coast, so visiting Virginia was culturally, very different from my hometown.

Just to warn you, . . . the city of Harrisonburg is tiny! It's about a two hour's drive south of Washington D.C. So if you fly into a major airport, say BWI, you then have to rent a car, take a greyhound, or find a friend to head south for another major trip.

As for the campus, it's beautiful and geographically, quite large. It's set in the Blue Ridge mountains and receives more snow in the winter than most of Virginia. Most of the campus buildings look colonial-era, but there's also a fairly new and impressive technolgogy-building catering to computer science majors, nutritionists, and health related fields.This tech-building is about a 15 minute walk from the other side of campus, up a hill, over a highway bridge. So be prepared to walk and hike.