Anonymous
Anonymous asked in Politics & GovernmentLaw Enforcement & Police · 1 decade ago

How do I find out complaints against my city's police department?

Is there a website or something I can go to to find out if complaints against the police, or even specific officers have been filed?

10 Answers

Relevance
  • 1 decade ago
    Best Answer

Here is the truth, no matter what the haters want to post here.

If your city is large enough to have an Internal Affairs Bureau, go there and ask them. IT IS ALL PUBLIC RECORD!

You can search complaints by type, Officer, disposition and many other ways.

If it is too small to have such a Bureau, call your states Attorney Generals Office. They would be able to direct you to those inquires.

If you are even more interested in such stats, contact the FBI. They are responsible for all Civil Rights violations allegations made against the police.

I am an honest cop and expect the same from my peers.

This is not secret stuff. It is not on the web, but it is public record and available.

If you need any more credible information about this, email me.

Source(s): 25 years on the job.
  • 1 decade ago

A Citizens Review Board usually keeps these type of record.

There are some city specific web pages that do list official complaints filed against police departments and specific officers. Anyone can make a complaint and not all complaints are substantiated (no cover up, but some people do make incorrect accusations against police officers or the police officer followed the correct protocol). Also, not all web pages accurately state the facts.

• 1 decade ago

Most likely you can find out statistical data in regards to complaints. In other words, a published list (not likely on a website, but maybe in your area) of complaint numbers and a breakdown as to type of complaint, how many sustained, unfounded, etc, etc.