promotion image of download ymail app
Promoted

Do you think I could afford being a stay-at-home mom?

My future husband makes roughly $35,000 and right now, I make around the same. However, if we decide to have children, I'm seriously considering being a stay-at-home mom. My occupation forces me to be out of the house for long hours, so I don't think I would enjoy being away from my children (who are not born yet, haha). Do you think we could make it work with just $35,000 a year? (I live in a city where the cost of everything is extremely expensive. For example, Gas = $3.54/gallon)

Update:

I actually have my degree and am getting my masters soon. I'm a teacher. But where I live, teachers don't get paid very much... and it's so hard to stay up late grading papers, supervising week-long field trips out of state, etc. when you have a family at home to care for. That's why I'm debating. I'm just not sure...

And thanks a lot to the person who called me that insulting name. Very immature...

27 Answers

Relevance
  • 1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

Im for stay at home moms but heres an idea. Why not tutor privately when you can. You could make your own hours and bring in a little extra income in your own home. Once the babies are past the infant or toddler stage you could advertise to tutor privately.

• Commenter avatarLogin to reply the answers
  • 1 decade ago

If the situation calls for adjustment then I am sure you and your husband will be able to get by. Oftentimes, you just need to review your current spending habits and make adjustment. Do away with unnecessary shopping and focus more on the necessities. Nowadays your predicament has already worked for several couples. Communication is the key to ensure that you and your husband won't argue about "money" in the future. Agree on how to budget and how much to budget. Drastic financial change will be quite challenging at first but once you get used to it - your perspective about finances will greatly improve.