Anonymous
Anonymous asked in Business & FinanceCareers & EmploymentLaw & Legal · 1 decade ago

Can I get fired for a misdemeanor?

After working at a company for two years, we are now required to fill out forms reporting any misdemeanor or felony on our record. At the time I was hired, I had not yet been convicted, so did not lie on my application. I work in finance and reputation/integrity is extremely important since we deal with large sums of investor money. Will I be fired for reporting that I plead guilty to the misdemeanor offense of "Disrupting the Legal Process" as a plea bargain after being arrested (not convicted) for drunk driving three years ago?

Update:

Mary B, to re-state, I was arrested for drunk driving, and plead guilty to the lesser charge of Disrupting the Legal Process as a part of a plea bargain. Thanks to the others who offered constructive thoughts.

8 Answers

Relevance
  • Anonymous
    1 decade ago
    Best Answer

Some companies have either a written or unwritten clause that pertains to moral turpitude, which essentially means if you don't hold yourself to high moral standard they won't either.

Fire you I doubt it, for the crime you commit ed however they may do a background check to determine if you warrant termination or they may watch your sick days for signs of that type of behavior

• 1 decade ago

Well if you accepted a plea bargain, more than likely you accepted a guilty plea, admitted to what you did. You should contact the lawyer who handeled your case. You may or may not be able to get fired. It depends on company policy. If you are fired and feel that it is wrong then you need to contact a lawyer. I don't believe you should get fired but it is a possibility.

Source(s): I'm a criminal justice student.
  • John
    Lv 5
    1 decade ago