Yes, it's true.
As for it not being meat... that's silly. Fish are living animals, and eating their flesh is eating meat. I've never heard of a "vegetarian" excluding a certain group of meat. If that were true, I'd be a vegetarian. I don't eat pork or fish, but I love chicken!
Edit: Just to drive the point home with some people who say vegetarians can pick and choose... no, they can't, not if they are truly vegetarians. Like someone below said, you can call yourself one, but that doesn't make it so. Here are three separate dictionary definitions. Note the specific references to fish:
"vegetarian - noun
eater of fruits and grains and nuts; someone who eats no meat or fish or (often) any animal products "
"vegeˈtarian [vedʒi-] noun
a person who does not eat meat of any kind"
"veg·e·tar·i·an - 1. a person who does not eat or does not believe in eating meat, fish, fowl, or, in some cases, any food derived from animals, as eggs or cheese, but subsists on vegetables, fruits, nuts, grain, etc."