4 month old with post nasal drip?

My daughter is 4 months old. She has had some kind of cold since starting daycare a month ago. She now has a flemmy nasal thing going on. When she sleeps it sounds like she is sawing logs and inevidably she wakes up because she can't breath as easily as she would like. Also, she has been spitting up a lot in the last 48 hours and has been a little bit more fussy. Do you think that the flem is going into her stomach and making her upset/ sick? She isn't running a temp. Can I do anything for her?

5 Answers

Relevance
  • alikat
    Lv 4
    1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

I am having a similar thing going on with my son who is 6 months old. He just started daycare two weeks ago. Fortunetly, I am a nurse, so it doesn't scare me too bad yet. He has a runny nose and was playing with his ear this morning while nursing. I am worried he may have a mild ear infection along with a slight cold. For a cold there is not much you can do I don't think. I will be getting a humidifier today that is supposed to help with the stuffy nose by keeping babies mucous membranes moist. One good rule of thumb is -if baby doesn't have a temp its a cold, if baby has a temp it is the flu or an infection. If she doesn't have a temp you can bet it is a cold and there is not much you can do except help make her comfortable. But colds can lead to ear infections, so be on the lookout for a fever and the tugging on the ears. I am going to call the pediatrician today, but my guess is he will tell me there is not much he can do at this point and will want to "wait and see." I have been told by several moms that when their child was sick at a younger age in daycare that they had general better health as they got older because they built so many active immunities themselves (I want to protect him with mine from breastmilk :)))) You should call your doctor and see what they say. If she is that flemmy, there may be something else you can do. I do know that there is a ne