what do you do if your 17 with a high school diploma and don't know what you want to do?

i have no job, no money for college [parents wont help at all] i want to move to texas later on. i dont really know a job that i would like. i was thinking something like real estate or plumbing because i heard the money was good, but im not sure if thats what i should do.

Update:

id love to join the military.. i cant w.o surgery plus id be leaving my girlfriend .. sucks

6 Answers

Relevance
  • 1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

Im the same way as you, I graduated as a junior from high school. Look, what i did was that i got a job at mcdonalds, i rented an appartment with a roommate, and i reported my own income tax, and that made financial aid pay for my classes. I live in texas. Maybe you should move over here

• MJ3000
    Lv 4
    1 decade ago

First thing, get a job (or a couple of jobs) in fields that might interest you. They'll be entry level since you're just starting out, but it's the best way for you to get a feel for what your life could be like in those fields. You'll earn money and experience.

If you decide to go to college, you'll hopefully have saved some money along the way. You can also apply for grants and federal financial aid. Many companies offer tuition reimbursement programs or grants as long as you keep a certain gpa. Some industries, sports, or even cities offer scholarships for people involved in them. You can find a lot of these on-line or in books at the library.

I had a$1000 per semester scholarship from a company in my hometown. Aside from the application, essay, and interview, the only thing was that I had to have graduated from a high school in the town where the company was active.