how do i know my idea for a book is not stupid or corny????

9 Answers

Relevance
  • 1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

I am a successful self-published author who has published nine books over the last 12 years.

A lot depends on whether your book is fiction or non-fiction, and whether it fills a need in a particular niche. For instance, I was looking for character building materials to use in home schooling my daughter. There was nothing available, so I wrote my own. I felt that other people might have a need for the same thing, so I first attempted to get published, using several of the well-known Christian publishers. They did not believe that the home school market was a big enough niche to warrant their interest, so I published the book myself, feeling sure that I had a market among home schoolers.

Today, everyone and their grandmother is publishing character building materials. My book was published at a time when the need was first being perceived. I took a risk, and it worked. And I've enjoyed the personal contact I have with so many of my customers.

Whether you want to self publish or publish through another company, you will want to do some research first about how to go about it. You can't afford to make mistakes in submitting a manuscript to a publisher. Many work only through an agent. Some do not want a full-blown manuscript; they want a proposal of your idea, and maybe a few chapters.

Here's a place to get started with the how-to's: http://www.timbete.com/FirstBook.html

Wishing you success,

Lee Ann

http://www.leeannrubsam.com

http://www.fullgospelfamily.com

• 1 decade ago

If you know anyone that is an agent that you can talk to, you might get an idea of whether or not your idea is marketable. It doesn't really matter if your book is stupid or corny; there are many published stupid and corny books. How many books written by celebrities were bad, but sold a lot of copies? The question is if your book is marketable.