Anonymous
Anonymous asked in HealthDiseases & ConditionsOther - Diseases · 1 decade ago

Do people who suffer from GERD also have problems with nausea?

I am on medication to control my GERD but just about every morning I am nauseated at verying degrees of severity (some mornings it is just annoying and others I can't move for fear of vomiting). Is this normal? I have had the testing done and other than the lining of my esophagus being erroded my doctor does not see anything else wrong other han the GERD. And no I am not pregnant.

8 Answers

Relevance
  • Anonymous
    1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

I am not a doctor, so either way you will want to talk to them, but this is what I have to say as a long time sufferer of Acid Reflux (G.E.R.D.)!

Three part answer information, what not to do, and what to do!

INFORMATION!!!!!!

I have a very severe case of Acid Reflux (G.E.R.D.). I have had to go to the hospital for some of the heartburn that I have had because the pain can become overwhelming or your breathing can be effected. It can be caused by Smoking, Drinking Beverages with caffeine (My case), Drinking Beverages with Alcohol, or can be Hereditary

The good thing about G.E.R.D. is that it can be a temporary thing and can be cured. It is never a permit thing even if you end up with it for the rest of your life it has the ability to be cured.

WHAT NOT TO DO!!!!!!!!

In most cases, stress is a factor to the reflux if you watch what you eat and reduce some of the stress it will help. If you watch what you eat for about a week you should find relief, if you do not then that is when you definitely what to listen to the doctor. Things to watch for are as follows:

Fatty Foods

Citrus Foods

Foods That Contain Grease

Fried Foods

Chocolate (including any Coco)

Caffeine

Smoking

Alcohol

Tomato Based Products

Lactose

WHAT TO DO!!!!