Jess asked in Science & MathematicsGeography · 1 decade ago

What are the U.S. Political Regions?

Like the Pacific Coast States, Rocky Mountain States, etc.

3 Answers

  • DanE
    Lv 7
    1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

    In the field of political geography regions tend to be based on political units such as sovereign states; subnational units such as provinces, counties, townships, territories, etc; and multinational groupings, including formally defined units such as the European Union, the Association of Southeast Asian Nations, and NATO, as well as informally defined regions such as the Third World, Western Europe, and the Middle East..

    In the US there is

    Official U.S. regions

    Regions defined in law or regulations by the federal government.

    The Bureau of Reclamation divides the western United States into five regions:

    * Great Plains Region - Billings, Montana

    * Lower Colorado Region - Boulder City, Nevada

    * Mid-Pacific Region - Sacramento, California

    * Pacific Northwest Region - Boise, Idaho

    * Upper Colorado Region - Salt Lake City, Utah

    Regional divisions used by the United States Census Bureau

    * Region 1 (Northeast)

    o Division 1 (New England)

    o Division 2 (Middle Atlantic)

    * Region 2 (Midwest)

    o Division 3 (East North Central)

    o Division 4 (West North Central)

    * Region 3 (South)

    o Division 5 (South Atlantic)

    o Division 6 (East South Central)

    o Division 7 (West South Central)

    * Region 4 (West)

    o Division 8 (Mountain)

    o Division 9 (Pacific)

    Standard Federal Regions

    Standard Federal Regions

    Standard Federal Regions

    The ten standard Federal Regions were established by OMB (Office of Management and Budget) Circular A-105, "Standard Federal Regions," in April, 1974, and required for all executive agencies. In recent years, some agencies have tailored their field structures to meet program needs and facilitate interaction with local, state and regional counterparts. The OMB must still approve any departures, however.

    * Region I: Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, Rhode Island, Vermont

    * Region II: New Jersey, New York, Puerto Rico, Virgin Islands

    * Region III: Delaware, Maryland, Pennsylvania, Virginia, West Virginia

    * Region IV: Alabama, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Mississippi, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee

    * Region V: Illinois, Indiana, Michigan, Minnesota, Ohio, Wisconsin

    * Region VI: Arkansas, Louisiana, New Mexico, Texas, Oklahoma

    * Region VII: Iowa, Kansas, Missouri, Nebraska

    * Region VIII: Colorado, Montana, North Dakota, South Dakota, Utah, Wyoming

    * Region IX: Arizona, California, Hawaii, Nevada (American Samoa, Guam, Northern Mariana Islands, Trust Territory of the Pacific Islands)

    * Region X: Alaska, Idaho, Oregon, Washington

    Judicial circuits

    U.S. judicial circuits

    U.S. judicial circuits

    As designated by Congress, the federal court system is divided into eleven judicial circuits, each with its own United States Court of Appeals. (There are also a District of Columbia Circuit and a Federal Circuit, both of which sit in Washington D.C. and have special, non-geographic jurisdictions.)

    * 1st Circuit (Courthouse in Boston, Massachusetts)

    * 2nd Circuit (Courthouse in New York, New York)

    * 3rd Circuit (Courthouse in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania)

    * 4th Circuit (Courthouse in Richmond, Virginia)

    * 5th Circuit (Courthouse in New Orleans, Louisiana)

    * 6th Circuit (Courthouse in Cincinnati, Ohio)

    * 7th Circuit (Courthouse in Chicago, Illinois)

    * 8th Circuit (Courthouse in St. Louis, Missouri)

    * 9th Circuit (meeting places vary from California to Alaska, but headquarters are in San Francisco, California)

    * 10th Circuit (Courthouse in Denver, Colorado)

    * 11th Circuit (Courthouse in Atlanta, Georgia)

    • Login to reply the answers
  • Anonymous
    1 decade ago

    The U.S. breaks down as Federal, State, County, City, and Neighborhood (ward, precinct, district)

    Pacific Coast States do NOT represent a political region, it's a geographical region.

    Geographic regions of the United States

    Northeast • New England - Mid-Atlantic • East Coast - Atlantic Northeast

    Midwest • E North Central - W North Central • Upper Midwest • Great Lakes - Great Plains

    South • Upland South - Deep South - Gulf Coast • South Atlantic - Southeast - South Central

    West • Pacific/West Coast - Mountain • Northwest - Southwest • Pacific Northwest - Great Basin

    Check out the link and look at the bottom for more info.

    Political Regions are the Bible Belt and the Blue States vs. red States.

    What's even more interesting is looking at presidential elections by county. The more water a county has the more likely they will vote democratic. Most democratic counties are either on the ocean or on the Mississippi River, even in VERY red states.

    • Login to reply the answers
  • 3 years ago

    iowa is normally republican. Dems are interior the west coast and the north east alongside with michigan and Minnesota. normally the rest is republican. New Mexico, Nevada, Ohio, Florida, Illinois are close calls

    • Login to reply the answers
Still have questions? Get your answers by asking now.