promotion image of download ymail app
Promoted
T. R asked in Entertainment & MusicRadio · 1 decade ago

Radio Backtiming, I don't know how. got a formula or something?

I have a show tomorrow and I don't understand how to back time. Our system lines up the top and bottom of the hour but we have breaks inbetween. um. I know how to run a scott studio program but I think you add the time of the song and the time you are at, minus the time you need to get to? I don't know.

so like:

lets say the time is 9:15:00 and I talked for 30 secs so its 9:15:30 and I have a song already playing that that 3:35 secs long and is counting down, and I need to fill the time gap so my clock hits at 9:19:00 (sports news) how do I find out how long of a song I need? sorry if it seems dumb but I'm just learning how to do this and my math is really bad.

could you like...show me a formula or something?

8 Answers

Relevance
  • Duh
    Lv 7
    1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

It's math, here's my standard essay on setting up a radio clock:

Set up a clock. Yup, just a circle with increments lined out. In your clock you put the "segments" which are made up of "elements". Elements are what makes the content of the show - in various segments. Got it so far?

OK, here's an example. Don't have to do it like this, but it may point you in the right direction: So you start at the "Top" of the hour, let's say 12 noon, (the top is straight up at 12, the bottom, is at 6 - and so on). You open with a 15" spoken introduction of your show. At 7" (we're going to use ' for minutes and " for seconds) you start the intro to the first song which is 9" total. So, by the time you finish your first 15" rap, the vocal will be just about ready to start with 1" to spare - that's called a run-up, or talk-up to the vocal. Don't "STEP ON THE VOCAL." (That's what happens when a jock mis-times it and talks after the singer starts.)