Anonymous
Anonymous asked in Food & DrinkCooking & Recipes · 1 decade ago

what's in Tapioca pudding?

I mean, what are those little balls in the pudding? Vanilla flavored geletan? I dont know! But they taste so GOOD!!! Any good recipes for homeade tapioca pudding? Thanks!

10 Answers

Relevance
  • 1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

Tapioca is a small or larger ball shaped flour based food product made from the cassava plant, it is cooked and then ground and rolled into balls, some the size of a match head to the larger ones used for bubble tea.

The pudding is made in a similar way to rice pudding were the tapioca is cooked with milk, sugar and vanilla flavour, it can be thicken with a egg and starch solution or just an egg.

When cold it is firm like a cornstarch/cooked boxed pudding and the tapioca balls will appear clear in colour.

When I was a chef I made it in Canada and in some the other hotels I worked in, in the far east it is made with coconut milk and some other flavours like pandan or durian, it is a bit less firm more a thinner consistancy and is available from street vendors in the hawker stalls of Singapore and Thailand.

• 4 years ago

It's a little bite of heaven. You mix milk, sugar, and egg in a saucepan, along w/ some tapioca pearls. These are round balls of starch from the root of a plant. Usually they have to be soaked in water, but there is instant tapioca available. Anyway, you bring the mix to a boil over low heat, stirring constantly. it will thicken. remove from heat, add vanilla, and let cool. I love it best eaten warm. There is a nice vanilla pudding and the cooked tapioca pearls are sort of suspended throughout. Man, I'm gonna go make me some now!

• 1 decade ago

Ingredients for Cream Tapioca Pudding

¼ cup minute tapioca

2-½ cups hot milk

½ cup cold milk

2 eggs

1/3 cup sugar

Vanilla flavor

A sprinkle of salt

Soak the tapioca in the cold milk for 10 minutes, add the hot milk, and cook in a double boiler until transparent.