Yahoo Answers is shutting down on May 4th, 2021 (Eastern Time) and beginning April 20th, 2021 (Eastern Time) the Yahoo Answers website will be in read-only mode. There will be no changes to other Yahoo properties or services, or your Yahoo account. You can find more information about the Yahoo Answers shutdown and how to download your data on this help page.

Anonymous
Anonymous asked in HealthDiseases & ConditionsInfectious Diseases · 1 decade ago

there was a water fountain, and a person dropped his blood there, is there a chance for a drinker to be infect

if there was a water fountain.. and a man with no current HIV test like about a teenager dropped blood on the fountain.. about drop of blood.. is there any chance that people who drinks on the fountain would be infected?

11 Answers

Relevance
  • 1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

HIV can not live outside of the body for more than a few minutes so your chances are slim to none. I work in a hospital lab and if I was my hands with soap and water for a good minute or two AFTER a needle stick, my chances of contracting are almost none..

I don't think you would have anything to worry about.

• 1 decade ago

Only if the person is positive would there ever be a chance. There is also Hepatitis C, which is just as deadly if not more so than Aids with treatment today. So, the answer is if any positive person's body fluids enter the body fluid of another person there is the possibility of transmission. The degree of blood and the transfer would play a role...it is a disgusting and very irresponsible thing for anyone to do and the people in charge of the fountain need to be told even if it is in confidence.

Source(s): Medical education and experience.
  • 1 decade ago

Not having had an HIV test doesn't mean someone has a disease.

Water fountains are designed to provide clean water out of the spout.

If you are concerned, don't lick the bowl the water falls into, only drink from the water that comes out of the spout.