best beginner tattoo kit?

i am a decorative painter/ muralist, and i would like to learn to tattoo. i am not interested in doing it professionally, but i would like to be able to do my own tattoos and my husbands. is there a beginners kit that you would recommend and any literature that would be helpful? any other tips?

Update:

hey guys, ive been a professioanl painter/artist for over 13 years. i would not apply a tattoo unless i was sure i knew what i was doing and was sure it would turn out perfectly. i want to learn the right way to do it....i just dont want to do it for everyone else. its for me

nevermind.

13 Answers

Relevance
  • 1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

no. i would recommend you leave it up to the professionals to do. otherwise you and your husband will have some crappy work to look at forever on your bodies.

ETA- even if you are a great artist, that doesn't naturally translate into tattooing. My husband is an artist, went to school for fine arts, and he still had to learn from an expert about how to tattoo. He'll be an apprentice for two years. It's a skilled trade, not something you can just do for fun.

Source(s): my husband is a tattoo artist
  • 4 years ago

Starter Tattoo Kits

• 7 years ago