Anonymous
Anonymous asked in Arts & HumanitiesBooks & Authors · 1 decade ago

How do I start writing a novel?

I'm really new at writing, but I'm educated in it and I know how to write and everything, but I just don't know where to start. I want to write a teen romance novel, and I usually start with an outline, but a small one at that, then a more detailed outline, a rough draft, then the final draft. But that was more of an essay or a short story with an assigned topic, so I really don't know where to begin. Should I use those methods, other methods, or should I just dive right in and start writing? HELP!

9 Answers

Relevance
  • 1 decade ago
    Best Answer

You start with your homework. A strong outline, detailed character studies and tons of research. You must become an expert on whatever it is you want to write about. To fake it cheats your readers, and they will know. No author just dives in. The prep work to write a novel takes several weeks to several months depending on the amount of research you need to do. I must tell you teen romance novels are becoming overkill and a lot of agents and publishers aren't reading them now. You are likely to spend a lot of time on the slush pile with a lot of other teen romance writers. Pax - C

• 1 decade ago

What's the best thing for you? If you like to have a really vivid image of what you're going to write, you're probably an outliner. In my opinon, all novels need some type of outline. The amount of detail you put into the outline, though, is up to you. It all depends.

First, let me say, I've never completed a novel. I'm way too young to dedicate my time to writing. When I finish school, I'll be ready. So, first, be ready to take the time out to write. =)