promotion image of download ymail app
Promoted

Breastfeeding Support?

I've been breastfeeding my son exclusively since he was born 2 months ago. Well my husband is not too supporting in the issue. He doesn't like for me to feed my son in public and is always telling me that it's much easier to use formula and that I should just use it already. I don't want to stop nursing him and I'm not going to but how can I get my husband to be more supportive? It bother's me that he's always telling me to use formula when we're in public because my son doesn't like to be covered up and I don't cover him but either way you can't see anything. What should I do? Not that I see anything wrong with using formula I just think it's much easier for me to nurse him. Has anyone else gone through this?

9 Answers

Relevance
  • 1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

I saw someone else mention this, but they make these great stylish covers for nursing in public, Hooter Hiders or Bebe Au Lait - same company they just have two different names for the products. They don't look like they actually drape on your baby's head or anything they just sort of go around you; so it may not bother your son.

It is so much easier breastfeeding, you don't have to carry a bottle with you and worry about the formula going bad. It's good health wise for your baby, it's a great stress release for you; and it's great to bond with your baby. It's a whole heck of a lot cheaper than formula.

Your husband doesn't know if it's easier he just doesn't want strangers seeing your breasts - tell him to get over it. Husbands make me laugh, my husband said 2 children are enough because it's wearing him down. At night after work he sits on the couch and watches tv, I do laundry, nurse our baby off and on for hours, clean the kitchen (he does make dinner) and take care of our 4 yr old - what part of any of that wears him out?