Should Morris Dees of the Southern Poverty Law Center be a candidate for the Nobel Peace Prize..Your choice?

The Peace Prize is awarded annually in Oslo, the capital of Norway.The actual prize always is presented on the 10th of December , the anniversary of the death of its creator, Swedish industrialist Alfred Nobel. The Norwegian king is in attendance. For the past decade, the Nobel Peace Prize Ceremony at the Oslo City Hall has been followed the next day by the Nobel Peace Prize Concert, which is broadcast to over 150 countries and more than 450 million households around the world.

Nominations for the Prize may be made by a broad array of qualified individuals, including former recipients, members of national assemblies and congresses, university professors (in certain disciplines), international judges, and special advisors to the Prize Committee. In some years as many as 199 nominations have been received. The Committee keeps the nominations secret and asks that nominators do the same. Over time many individuals have become known as "Nobel Peace Prize Nominees", but this designation has no official standing [2]. Nominations from 1901 to 1951, however, have been released in a database. When the past nominations were released it was discovered that Adolf Hitler was nominated in 1939, though the nomination was retracted in February of the same year. Other infamous nominees included Joseph Stalin and Benito Mussolini. However, since nomination requires only support from one qualified person (eg. a history professor), these unusual nominations do not represent the opinions of the Nobel committee itself.

Unlike the other Nobel Prizes, the Nobel Peace Prize may be awarded to persons or organizations that are in the process of resolving an issue, or creating world peace rather than upon the resolution of the issue. Since the Prize can be given to individuals involved in ongoing peace processes, some of the awards now appear, with hindsight, questionable, particularly when those processes failed to bear lasting fruit. For example, the awards given to Theodore Roosevelt, Shimon Peres, Yitzhak Rabin, Yasser Arafat, Lê Ðức Thọ, and Henry Kissinger were particularly controversial and criticized; the latter prompted two dissenting Committee members to resign [3].

In 2005, the Nobel Peace Center opened. It serves to present the Laureates, their work for peace, and the ongoing problems of war and conflict around the world.

3 Answers

  • 1 decade ago
    Best Answer

    yes, why not?

  • 1 decade ago

    Unfortunately this scum will probably get this dubious award as he is a card carrying ACLU piece of s--t that hates his country.Maybe some muslim creep will take a detour to Stockholm and blow those proceedings all to hell.

    Communist piece of garbage.

  • Anonymous
    1 decade ago

    All that is necessary to win the prize is to make an anti USA statement. That is how that living joke Carter got his.

Still have questions? Get your answers by asking now.