Buy or Rent?... right out of college.?

I will be graduating next May with a B.S. in Electrical Engineering. The average entry level salary is $51,000. I am planning on living in one of four cities (Atlanta, Columbia SC, Greensboro NC, Knoxville TN).

Should I buy a condo/townhouse for around $120,000 as soon as possible with a small downpayment or wait a few years?

8 Answers

Relevance
  • 1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

First, just because the national average is $51k, don't assume that's what you'll be making in those areas. You should check out what the local cost of living is compared to the national average, and take into consideration how that can affect your salary. When I graduated, the national average for a computer engineer, was about $40k, but in Michigan where the cost of living was lower, I only got a job offer for $35k. Meanwhile, in California, I was offered almost $50k - quite a large difference.

Second, I would worry more about paying off any student loans you may have, first. This will really boost your credit rating which is very important when buying a house. You should also work on building up your savings to act as an emergency fund should something happen - such as losing your job unexpectedly.

I can't speak for the real estate markets in those areas - I'm living near San Francisco, CA, where the normal rules don't apply... Even the copy of "Home buying for dummies" I read had a special footnote that basically said "if you live in California, disregard chapter 3..."

Realize that owning a home is more than simply being able to pay the mortgage every month. There's property taxes, utilities, insurance (both house, medical and life - some places won't give you a mortgage without all 3), upkeep, and association fees (if you live in a condo/townhouse)